About Us

Founded in 1991, South West Mayo Development Company (SWMDC) is a community-owned and volunteer-led Local Development Company (LDC), which was established to implement the pilot LEADER European Rural Development Programme in south west Mayo. 

SWMDC has been a cornerstone of the local, rural, community development and social inclusion sectors in Mayo for three decades. We now employ 52 people, with an additional 450 people employed through social employment schemes. 

Our geographical remit for some programmes now covers all of County Mayo and stretches into Roscommon and Galway. While our initial focus was on rural and community development, social inclusion and employment/activation are now significant areas of work in the company. 

Through the work of SWMDC, communities, enterprises and people across Mayo and the wider western region have benefitted from training, capacity building, animation, investment and the development of projects. All our work is based on the fundamental principle that our interactions with people and communities should be empoweringenriching and energising. 

SWMDC – Growth and Change since 1991

Company founded
Local Development Programmes
Abbey Women’s Group
Little Stars Traveller Childcare Project
National Rural Development Programme LEADER +
Rural Social Scheme (RSS)
Local Development Social Inclusion Programme (LDSIP)
Rural Development Programme (LEADER)
Rural Recreation and Walks Scheme
Local Training Initiative
Community Employment
Local and Community Development Programme
Tús Community Work Placement Initiative
Western Region Drugs and Alcohol Task Force project (WRDATF)
Community Futures
Addition of Gaeltacht areas to SWMDC LEADER remit
SICAP (Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme)
Rural Development Programme (LEADER) 2014 - 2020
Mayo Syrian Refugee Resettlement Programme
Social Farming (1)
Community Food Initiative
Integration Mayo Intercultural Action
Greenway Maintenance (Mayo County Council)
AMIF 1 (Asylum, Migration, Integration Fund) Diversity Mayo
SICAP 2 (Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme)
AMIF 2 Welcoming and Integrating New Communities (WIN)
Social Farming (2)
Transitional LEADER Programme & European Union Recovery Instrument (EURI)

Our Board

Management Team

Seán Carolan

Rural Development (LEADER) Manager

Kevin Cunniffe

RRS & Tús Initiative Coordinator

Catherine McCloskey

Social Inclusion Manager (Coordinator)

Lisa Halpin

Human Resources Manager

Community Employment team

Norah Campbell

CE West Assistant Supervisor

Ann Connor

CE West Supervisor

Declan Walsh

CE South Supervisor

Mary Corless

Admin Support (CE South)

Community FUTURES team

Marie Reilly Davey

Community Futures Support Worker

Geraldine Leneghan

Community Development

Finance and Administration team

Sinéad Gavin

Finance & Office Administrator

Linda Groarke

Office Administrator - RSS & Tús

Leanne Loftus

Office Administrator (Newport)

Peg McGrail

Finance Administrator

Roma Malinovskaja

Finance Administrator

Ann Moogan

Finance & Office Administrator

Majella Mulchrone

Finance Administrator

HSE-Social inclusion programme team

Niail Cherbatji

Health Liaison Worker, EROC Ballaghadereen

Harold Slok

Social Care Leader – Social Inclusion, EROC Ballaghadereen

Ade Adenjii

Migrant Peer Health Support Worker

HSE - ROma/Migrants

Paula Lenehan

Roma & Migrant Community Liaison Worker

HSE - Social Prescribing (Primary Care Centre Castlebar)

Michelle Prendergast

Social Prescribing Link Worker

LEADER Programme team

Norita Clesham

LEADER Community Project Officer

Living well Programme team

Fiona Cunnane

Living Well Coordinator

Liam Gildea

Living Well Administrator

Welcoming & Including New Communities (WIN) team

Patricia Quinn

WIN Outreach & Training Officer

Rural Social Scheme team

Padraic Corcoran

Rural Social Scheme Supervisor

Martina Fadden

Rural Social Scheme Supervisor

Frank McNeela

Rural Social Scheme Supervisor

Laura Commins

Rural Social Scheme Supervisor

Chris Mannion

Rural Social Scheme Supervisor

Noel Mulroy

Rural Social Scheme Supervisor

Maura Murphy

Rural Social Scheme Supervisor

Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme (SICAP) team

Anne-Marie Carroll

Employment & Training Officer

Caroline Healy

Community Development, Education & Training Officer

Mikhail Kolchanov

Ukrainian Refugee Intercultural Support Worker

Olivia Kitterick

Enterprise & Social Enterprise Officer

Breda Murray

Self-Employment Specialist

Helen Mykhailyk

Ukrainian Refugee Intercultural Support Worker

Galyna Marusych

Family Support Practitioner

Oleksandra Sikach

Ukrainian Refugee Intercultural Support Worker

Olena Palamarchuk

Outreach Peer Support Worker

Margaret Lawless

SICAP Beneficiary Support

Tracie O’Leary

Lifelong Learning Officer

Social Farming team

Deirdre Fahey

Regional Development Officer

Tús Initiative Team

Linda Beirne

Tús Supervisor

Mairead Dooley

Tús Supervisor

Brian Finn

Tús Supervisor

Trevor Grimes

Tús Supervisor

Tony Hynes

Tús Supervisor

Walks Scheme & Rural Recreation team

Martin Dillane

Rural Recreation Officer & Walks Scheme

Western Region Drug & Alcohol Task Force (wrdatf) team

Gillian Conway

Drug Education Support Worker

Mags Dillon

Community Liaison Worker

Our Team

 Registered in Dublin 182222. Recognised by the Revenue Commissioners as a Charity No. CHY 10482 Copyright © 2021 South West Mayo Development. All Rights Reserved.