The Community Employment (CE) programme is designed to help people who are long-term unemployed (or otherwise disadvantaged) to get back to work by offering part-time and temporary work placements in local communities. 


South West Mayo Development Company sponsors two Community Employment (CE) schemes on behalf of the Department of Social Protection (DSP) in south and west Mayo as follows: 

  1. South Mayo Community Employment Scheme 
  1. West Mayo Community Employment Scheme 


We have 25 people on each scheme who work across 21 community voluntary organisations. 

If you are unemployed and would like to check your eligibility for community employment, contact your Local Employment Service office or see the most up-to-date information here:  

In general, you must be over 21 years old and in receipt of a social welfare payment for at least 12 months. A new pilot scheme allows a percentage of participants who are over 62 years of age to stay on the scheme until retirement age. We also have two substances abuse places available on our schemes. 

Payments to participants are made in the form of a wage. Your wage rates are determined by your underlying social welfare entitlement.  

We have an annual training budget aimed at upskilling CE participants to return to the workforce. All courses are fully accredited, and a list of courses can be found on 

You can find CE work opportunities on

Community Employment participants help local communities with vital social and community services that would otherwise be unaffordable. These include, but are not limited to: 

  • Childcare 
  • Managing and maintaining sports and recreational facilities 
  • Administration support to charitable organisations 
  • Resource and environmental workers 
  • Newsreaders and arts workers 


If you are a community voluntary organisation interested in Community Employment support, please contact one of our Supervisors to see how you can access this support. 

SWMDC implements the Community Employment programme in south and west Mayo. This includes the towns of Claremorris, Ballinrobe, Castlebar and Westport.

For more information, please contact:

South Mayo CEDeclan Walsh CE Supervisordwalsh@southmayo.com087 223 6905
West Mayo CEAnn Connor CE Supervisoraconnor@southmayo.com087 223 6906
West Mayo CENorah CampbellAssistant CE 087 131 5082